Rusty McAllister


Rusty McAllister is the Executive Secretary Treasurer of the Nevada State AFL-CIO and has held that position since January 2017. He was recently elected by acclimation at the 2017 Nevada State AFL-CIO Convention to a full 4-year term. He manages the daily operations of the Nevada State AFL-CIO on behalf of the organization’s 180,000 members.

Rusty is retired from the Las Vegas Fire & Rescue where he served the residents of Las Vegas over 32 years before retiring in September of 2016. He served in the positions of Firefighter, Paramedic, and for the final 24 years as a Fire Captain. He is still an active member of the Las Vegas Firefighters Local 1285.

During his time on the fire department Rusty was involved with his union, first as an E-Board member and then in 2002 was elected as Treasurer of Firefighters Local 1285. was also the Chairman of the Las Vegas Firefighters Heath & Welfare Trust Fund. He served in both of these positions until 2014.

Rusty was actively involved statewide with the International Association of Firefighters. He was elected to office with the Professional Firefighters of Nevada as a District Vice President in 1984. He rose to the position of President in 2004 and maintained that position until 2017 when he resigned to become the Nevada State AFL-CIO Executive Secretary Treasurer.  Rusty served as the Legislative Representative for the firefighters in Nevada from 1999 until 2017. He currently fills that role for the Nevada State AFL-CIO.

Rusty has earned two associate degrees in Arts & Sciences and Fire Science Technology. He is a graduate of the Harvard Trade Union Program. He served on the Police/Fire Advisory committee of the Public Employees Retirement System of Nevada from 1999 to 2011 and for 6 years as a member of the PERS Board of Trustees. 

He currently serves the following affiliations: 

  • United Labor Agency of Nevada, Chairman of the Board
  • Nevada Industrial Relations Advisory Council – Member
  • Nevada Firefighters Memorial – Chairman of the Board
  • Public Education Foundation – Board of Directors
  • NSHE Chancellor’s Workforce Advisory Group – Member
  • Council for a Better Nevada – Board of Directors